Applications for conceal and carry permits are conveniently available to Cape Girardeau County residents at our office.
First Time Applicants
Applications for a concealed carry permit may be done 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
To obtain a concealed weapon permit, you must meet the criteria as defined by RSMo 571.101.
To apply for a concealed weapon permit ("CCW"), you must have the following:
A certificate showing a minimum of 8 hours of required personal firearms safety training. The course shall be in compliance with RSMo 571.111.
A valid Missouri identification card showing that you are a resident of Cape Girardeau County, or a valid identification card and proof of residence in Cape Girardeau County if your license does not show a Cape Girardeau County address.
The fee for a CCW permit is $80.00.
Payment can be in the form of cash, a check, or a money order for the exact amount payable to the Cape Girardeau County Sheriff's Office.
When completing your application for a CCW permit you will be required to be fingerprinted.
The application must be completed by the individual obtaining the permit. Fingerprints will be submitted to the Missouri State Highway Patrol for a criminal records check. Applicants will be notified by phone within 45 days regarding approval of their permit. Please allow the full 45 day period to expire before contacting us. Upon notification, applicants may pick up their signed permit at our office.
Please note that under Missouri state law any felony conviction, including convictions with a suspended imposition of sentence (SIS), will disqualify you from receiving a concealed carry permit.
How do I renew my concealed carry weapons (CCW) permit?
CCW permits issued prior to August 28, 2013 are valid for 3 years from the date of issuance. Permits issued or renewed after August 28, 2013 are valid for 5 years, and will expire on the last day of the month of issuance. To renew your permit you must bring your current CCW and identification to the Sheriff’s Office. You will need to complete an application form and pay a $50.00 renewal fee. If your CCW is expired; additional fees may apply and you may be required to provide all of your original documentation again. If the permit is expired over 6 months you will have to reapply for the permit and will need a copy of your training certificate. You do not have to go through the class again as long as you have the proper documentation from before.
If your name has changed, the permit holder must provide proof of their name change within 30 days to the Sheriff that issued the permit. You will need to bring your current CCW permit and provide documentation of your name change, such as a marriage license/certificate, divorce papers or any other court issued documents showing the name change. A CCW permit may be cancelled if the permit holder has not followed these guidelines. There is a $10 fee for name changes.
If you move away from the county your permit was issued in, you must notify the Sheriff of the new county of residence. To do this bring your current permit and documentation of the new address, this could include an insurance card, tax bill, utility bill, or lease agreement. This must be done within 30 days of establishing the new address. A CCW may be cancelled if the permit holder has not followed these guidelines. There is a $10 fee for an address change.
Lost or Stolen Card
If your CCW permit is lost or stolen, you must come to the sheriff’s office and “furnish a statement” in writing within 7 days. A new permit can then be issued to you. There is a $10 fee for processing a replacement permit.
There are many instructors available in the Cape Girardeau County area. However, the sheriff's office is not allowed to recommend a particular instructor or to provide a list of instructors for you to choose from. You may find an instructor via the internet, phone book or any gun shop. Please make sure the course you are attending meets the guidelines specified by state statute.
Information for Instructors
If you are an instructor, live in Cape Girardeau County, and wish to be added to the Missouri Sheriff’s Association State Database you must bring the following documents to the sheriff’s office. A copy of their valid instructor certification(s), a course outline signed by the instructor and notarized, and a photo of the instructor. At the office you will need to complete a form and pay a $10 annual fee. The instructor registration must be done annually for those who wish to be in the database and is only good for a calendar year. Any instructor registered in the statewide database shall be presumed by all sheriffs to be a valid instructor, unless the sheriff has reason to believe otherwise. Instructor information on the database is a closed record except for access by any sheriff.
For more information concerning CCW laws visit:
GunLaws.com - An excellent resource with information about conceal and carry laws in all states nationwide.
Missouri Sheriff's Association - A link to the Missouri Sheriff's Association page with some Frequently Asked Questions about Concealed Carry Laws and links to the applicable Missouri Statutes.
CCW Reciprocity - A link to the Missouri Attorney General's Office who maintains a page detailing which states will honor and which states will not honor a Missouri Concealed Carry Permit.
Missouri State Highway Patrol - A link to a PDF Brochure created by the Missouri State Highway Patrol with some of the Frequently Asked Questions about Concealed Carry and other associated laws.
Learn where it is legal and where it is not legal to carry and which states will honor your Missouri permit.